Welcome to The Palace of Auburn Hills Concert Series! Each week we will be uploading a different song from that performance. This week’s Skeleton Crew® song is “Trumpeting Soul.”

It’s fitting we had the opportunity to perform “Trumpeting Soul” on the Palace stage as the idea for the music was first introduced there. Skeleton Crew® had the honor of performing the national anthem at several Detroit Pistons games. It was backstage at one of the anthem performances that Scott first played me the idea he had for the opening guitar line. I had had the title “Trumpeting Soul” running through my head for some time and the moment Scott played me the opening guitar line I said: “that’s trumpeting soul!”

The song deals with coming to terms with the loss of a loved one; in this case the passing of my father a few years earlier. His death to this day weighs heavily on my conscience as it was the result of an accident I felt to blame. I am forever grateful to have hugged my father the night before the accident and told him directly that I loved him. ~William

Thought you might like reading the lyrics so here they are:

trumpeting soul

no never mind i never needed to tell you i want you
i’d sooner die than believe in the weakness of fools
all my life i’ve waited…it’s true
to realize i never needed no one more than you
a hand for the helpless to help tie my shoes

listen to me (hush my darling)
hear the word, speak the truth (don’t you cry)
there’s somebody up there (keep your head up)
smilin’ down on me and you (high…)
baby i (like), maybe i’d (to), like to know (know)
the trumpeting soul

i had in mind a little faith in this trial and error world
you might have been sorry for leaving so soon
take your time don’t hurry…this through
i’d rather die than be left all alone without you
a sign for the silent and a sun dripping life

hold on to something (hush my darling)
the key that we hold (don’t you cry)
it sounds just like music (keep your head up)
and it feels good as gold (high…)
maybe i (take), maybe i’ll (con), take control (trol)
of the trumpeting soul

a symbol of hope we don’t dare let go

cry if you need to (hush my darling)
said the calm before the storm (don’t you cry)
and know that i love you (keep your head up)
as you walk through that door (high…)
Gabriel! (blow), Gabriel! (your), come blow your horn (horn)
you’re the trumpeting soul

Word & Music by Skeleton Crew® | ©Skeleton Crew Music (ASCAP)

